JAMES L. McINTIRE

State Treasurer

State of Washington
Office of the Treasurer

Motor Vehicle Insurance — Proof of Financial Responsibility

In the State of Washington, both citizens and non-citizens of the State can meet motor
vehicle insurance requirements in any of three ways:

e Auto insurance through an automobile insurance company.

¢ A bond through a bonding company.

» Pledging $60,000 to the State.

The Office of the State Treasurer provides support for the pledging of money or
securities as directed by RCW 46.29.550.

RCW 46.29.550 — Money or securities as proof
Proof of financial responsibility may be evidenced by the certificate of the state
treasurer that the person named therein has deposited with him sixty thousand
dollars in cash, or securities such as may legally be purchased by savings banks
or for trust funds of a market value of sixty thousand dollars. The state treasurer
shall not accept any such deposit and issue a certificate therefor and the
department shall not accept such certificate unless accompanied by evidence
that there are no unsatisfied judgments of any character against the depositor in
the county where the depositor resides.

Under RCW 46.29.550, there are three options available to satisfy the certificate
requirements:

1. An individual can remit $60,000 to the Office of the State Treasurer. The money
will be deposited in a non-interest bearing account on your behalf.

2. Anindividual can open a separate bank account, as an interest bearing account,
in his/her name with a financial institution of his/her choice and pledge the
account to the program; minimum $60,000. Usually people will open a CD
account. Earnings are credited to the individual and can be used as he/she
desires. The principal amount cannot be withdrawn without the State's approval.

3. An individual can open an investment account with a securities firm and pledge
the account to the program. To accommodate market shifts, you must start with
assets valued at a minimum of $66,000. While the account is pledged to this
program, if the value falls below $60,000, you must add investments to the
account to bring the value to at least $60,000.

Once you apply to the program, it will take between 3 to 6 weeks before the State can
issue a certificate to you. By law, the Office of the State Treasurer must ensure that
there are no unsatisfied judgments of any character against an applicant in the county
where the applicant resides. The Office of the State Treasurer will send letters to the
courts requesting verification that there are no unsatisfied judgments.
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Once a certificate is issued:

1. It covers only one person: the certificate holder.

2. Family members or other individuals cannot use the same certificate.

3. In the event of an accident, funds will be held for a minimum of three years from
the time of the accident. The three years represents the period in which
individuals may bring civil actions which might arise from an accident. In the
event such an action is pursued, the three-year holding period may be
significantly extended.

4. The certificate does not limit liability. If judgments exceed $60,000, other assets
may be at risk.

To withdraw from the program, an individual must request approval to withdraw from
the Department of Licensing. The Department of Licensing contact number is (360) 902-
3900. The Department of Licensing will notify the Office of the State Treasurer when
approval to withdraw from the program and the release of the funds has been granted.
When that occurs, the Office of the State Treasurer will send a letter to you relinquishing
all rights vested to the State for the account pledged to the program and will rescind the
State certificate issued to you. The Office of the State Treasurer will send copies of the
letter to the financial institution or securities firm and to the Department of Licensing.

If you choose to be bonded through a bonding company, you will need to work with the
bonding company and the Department of Licensing.

The Department of Licensing contact number is (360) 902-3900. Also, information is
located on the Department of Licensing web-site:

www.dol.wa.gov

www.dol.wa.gov/driverslicense/insurance.html
www.dol.wa.gov/driverslicense/restricted.html

Frequently asked questions:

1. Can real estate be pledged to the program? Answer: No.
2. Does the State cover losses greater than $60,000? Answer: No.

3. How about insurance for a fleet of vehicles? Answer: Contact the
Department of Licensing
Attn: Driver Records
P.O. Box 9030
Olympia, WA 98507-9030
(360) 902-3836

If you have additional questions, please contact Dan Mason at (360) 902-9090 or
dan.mason@tre.wa.gov.

If you desire a certificate, please complete the forms and return them to:

Office of the State Treasurer
Attn: Daniel P. Mason

P.O. Box 40200

Olympia, WA 98504-0200



JAMES L. McINTIRE
State Treasurer

State of Washington
Office of the Treasurer

FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY

APPLICATION FORM
RCW 46.29.550
Name of Depositor:
(Please Print: First Name Middle Name Last Name)
Street Address
City County State Zip

Driver’s License Number:

Telephone Number:

E-mail Address:

Preferred Alternative of Compliance (check one):
A Certified Check for $60,000.

A Bank Account for $60,000.

A Securities Trading Account for 110% of $60,000 ($66,000).

Signature

Date
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JAMES L. McINTIRE
State Treasurer

State of Washington
Office of the Treasurer

AFFIDAVIT
OF
FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY
RCW 46.29.550
Driver’s License Number:
Date of Birth:
I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT I RESIDE IN COUNTY. I

FURTHER CERTIFY THAT THERE ARE NO UNSATISFIED JUDGMENTS OF ANY
CHARACTER AGAINST ME IN THE COUNTY CERTIFIED AS MY RESIDENCE.

Printed Name

(First Name Middle Name Last Name)
Street Address
City State Zip
SIGNATURE DATE
SUBSCRIBED AND
SWORN BEFORE ME THIS DAY OF , 20

NOTARY PUBLIC IN AND FOR
THE STATE OF WASHINGTON

RESIDING AT
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JAMES L. McINTIRE
State Treasurer

State of Washington
Office of the Treasurer

ASSIGNMENT OF MONIES OR SECURITIES
RCW 46.29.550

Date of Birth:

Name of Depositor (First, Middle, Last)

Driver’s License Number:

Street Address

City County State Zip

This assignment is for the purpose of fulfilling the requirements of the Financial Responsibility
Law, Chapter 46.29 RCW. The Depositor of the within described monies or securities does
hereby assign, transfer, and set over to the state of Washington for the purposes described in that
Chapter all right, title, and interest in the monies or securities identified below including the
exclusive right to liquidate securities, save and except the interest earned on such monies or
securities:

DESCRIPTION OF MONIES OR SECURITIES:

TOTAL CURRENT MONETARY
VALUE OF MONIES OR SECURITIES: §

FOR BANK AND SECURITIES FIRM ACCOUNTS ONLY

Name of Bank or Securities Firm

Account Name

Account Number

Street Address

City State Zip
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ASIGNMENT OF MONIES OR SECURITIES
Page 2

UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED, this assignment has been made to meet the statutory
requirements for financial responsibility deposit on behalf of
Assignment is hereby delivered to the State of Washington, State Treasurer. Interest accrued on
the assigned monies or securities may be paid to the Depositor of said monies or securities. State
of Washington, State Treasurer is assigned by Depositor full power and authority to demand on
30 days notice, collect, receive, deposit and to give receipt and acquittance therefore, for the uses
and purposes prescribed by said Chapter. State of Washington, State Treasurer is assigned the
exclusive rights to liquidate securities if necessary to satisfy an execution on judgment under this
act. It is understood and agreed that any issuer of securities agrees to hold said securities until a
release of assignment is received from the State of Washington, Department of Licensing and
that following such release, the issuer shall remit the securities exclusively at the order of the
Depositor, subject to the rules and regulations of the issuer incident to such securities.

RELEASE OF MONIES OR SECURITIES

Monies or securities assigned to the State of Washington, State Treasurer may be released to the
Depositor only upon order of the State of Washington, Department of Licensing. The State of
Washington, Department of Licensing shall order the release of such monies or securities upon
request of the Depositor, except that if the records maintained by the department indicate that the
Depositor, during the period such monies or securities were assigned, was involved in an
accident for which there is a possibility of a judgment being rendered against the Depositor, the
department shall not release such monies or securities until three (3) years from the date of such
accident or until liability is determined by a civil court. At the end of three (3) years, if there is
no lawsuit and/or lawsuit pending, the department will release such monies or securities upon
request of the Depositor.

NOTE: Release of monies or securities, or failure to maintain market value of any assigned
securities in the amount required by RCW 46.29.550, may result in noncompliance with financial
responsibility requirements.  The Bank or Securities Firm assumes responsibility to
independently provide the Office of the State Treasurer with a monthly statement of account
activity.

Signed and dated at , Washington, this day of

20

Signature of Depositor or Investor

FOR BANK OR SECURITY FIRM ACCOUNTS

Name of Bank or Securities Firm Telephone Number

Authorized Signature & Title Printed Name



